Review: A Sound of Thunder – Who Do You Think We Are?


Written by Rainer Kerber

Just over a year ago, Washington D.C. based power metal act A Sound of Thunder unleashed their latest full length album, Tales from the Deadside. One year later they unexpectedly returned with a fresh offering in the form of a cover album.

On Who Do You Think We Are? the band covered many several outstanding bands such as Rainbow, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath and Kansas in their signature power metal style.

After a short intro, the album starts with the Alice Cooper’s classic ‘Who Do You Think We Are?’ which was originally found on the 1981 album, Special Forces. As expected, this version is much harder than the original. Here, ASOT trademarks are clearly heard such as punchy virtuoso guitar, driving drums, pumping bass and of course, the powerful voice of Nina Osegueda.

Following this excellent opening is hit after hit like ‘Death Alley Driver’ (Rainbow – Straight Between The Eyes, 1982), ‘Pleasure Slave’ (Manowar – Kings Of Metal, 1988) and ‘The Last in Line’ (Dio – The Last In Line , 1984). All of these songs stand as proud tributes to the originals and they hit the spot just right.

While heavier tracks have been mentioned so far, A Sound of Thunder showed their mastery of the lighter tunes as well. On the lighter side of this release is ‘Ghost’ (Dan Fogelberg – The Innocent Age, 1980) and ‘Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple – Machine Head, 1987). The latter can be heard twice on the album, once with Nina Osegueda alone on lead vocals and once with guest vocalist John Gallagher of the British NWOBHM band Raven.

An album made possible by the generous donations of fans, which more than doubled the goal, ASOT paid their respect to their supporters on Kickstarter by including two exclusive bonus tracks – ‘Island of Domination’ (Judas Priest – Sad Wings Of Destiny, 2000) and a new recording of ‘Walls,’ which was released in 2010 on ASOT’s self-titled EP.

If you know A Sound of Thunder then you know what an ass kicking cover album they’ve put together here. This is the finest of American power metal and exciting from first note to the last.

Nina Osegueda shouts her soul out of her body on every track and her bandmates provide a powerful sound that only enhances these classics! Although this is a cover album, which some might feel doesn’t deserve a score, I beg to differ. This is one of the best albums of 2016! 10/10


Nina Osegueda – Vocals
Josh Schwartz – Guitar
Chris Haren – Drums
Jesse Keen – Bass

Label: Selbstvertrieb

Out: 12.16.2016

Duration: 01:17:44

Track list:

  • Who Do You Think We Are? (Alice Cooper)
  • Death Alley Driver (Rainbow)(featuring Tony Carey)
  • Gypsy (Mercyful Fate)
  • Pleasure Slave (Manowar)
  • Stinkfist (Tool)
  • Icarus – Borne on Wings of Steel (Kansas)
  • A National Acrobat (Black Sabbath)
  • Day of the Thunder (Wrathchild America)
  • The Last in Line (Dio)
  • Ghosts (Dan Fogelberg)
  • Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)
  • Trashed (Black Sabbath)
  • Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)(featuring John Gallagher)
  • Island of Domination (Judas Priest)(Kickstarter Exclusive)
  • Walls 2016 (A Sound of Thunder)(Kickstarter Exclusive)




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s