Beatallica: The Weirdest and Coolest Mashup You’ll Ever See

15250778_10154728928477902_6362987710431443213_o
Written by Brett Kihlmire

A strange combination of The Beatles and Metallica, Beatallica blends the classic rock’n’roll style of the British legends with the unrelenting ferocity of the Bay Area thrashers. So how did it all begin?

Hailing from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA, Beatallica started as joke band for a show, but the band was a hit and show goers wanted more. As a result, the original members realized that combining The Beatles and Metallica wasn’t just funny, it was awesome!

Taking a unique approach to songwriting, Beatallica takes single song from each band and morphs it into one track. In order to make this combination work the band relies on their knowledge of both bands’ discography to create the unique thrash metal that is Beatallica.

“I guarantee you that no one is doing what this band is doing,” says rhythm guitarist and lead vocalist, Jaymz OH!NOOO! Lennfield. “You can’t throw together a mashup band and not have the members know both bands.”

“We’re all seasoned musicians and this music is a lot trickier to play than maybe it seems or sounds initially. A lot of times in order to make The Beatles part and the Metallica part work together you have to add a beat or subtract a beat and it’s like dropped in the middle,” adds bassist Dave Newkid.

By 2007 the band released their debut album, Sgt. Hetfield’s Motorbreath Pub Band, and went on tour. They’ve since remained a full time band, playing shows and touring all while putting out a total of three full albums, a holiday themed extended play and a single which features their song ‘All You Need is Blood’ in 13 different languages.

Since formation, Beatallica has come up with numerous strange but awesome combinations such as Hero the Day Tripper (Day Tripper and Hero of the Day) and The Thing That Should Not Let It Be (The Thing That Should Not Be and Let It Be) giving fans a bit of humor to their otherwise serious but not serious music.

“The bottom line is it has to sound seamless to the listener. There have been innumerable songs that haven’t seen the light of day. Sometimes I think the most important decisions in a band are the decisions you don’t make,” says Lennfield.  “The Beatles and Metallica do not conveniently go together.”

Though it’s been a few years since the band released their last full length, Abbey Load, as of this writing the band is focused more on performing. In fact, they’re preparing to head out on tour with the Ned Flanders tribute band, Okilly Dokilly. However, due to scheduling conflicts they were forced to bring on temporary drummer Jimmy Ül-Nic (Andy Martin of Conniption) to fill in for Ringo Larz.

Though a dedicated Beatles fan and a member of the award winning thrash metal outfit, Conniption, Ül-Nic admits having some difficulty in learning the band’s music at first.

“It’s not like ‘ok, well this is The Beatles song and this is the Metallica song,” says Ül-Nic, who described the music as a hybrid approach to the mash-up with a strong thrash metal backbone. And though it was challenge to not only learn the material but also match the play style of Ringo Larz, Ül-Nic had a lot of fun “really diving in and picking them apart and figuring them out.”

Beatallica’s 2017 US tour will begin April 14th at Club Garibaldi in their hometown of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The following day they’ll cruise down to Chicago and turn back to Wisconsin for a pair of shows in central and western Wisconsin. After one last Midwest show in St. Louis, Missouri, the band flies out to Fresno, California on April 26th to join Okilly Dokilly for a tour that will take them through the south, up the Eastern seaboard and back to the Midwest.

 

Spring 2017 US Tour
Friday April 14th – Milwaukee @ Club Garibaldis***
Saturday April 15th – Chicago @ Live Wire Lounge***
Friday, April 21—Chippewa Falls, WI @ Every Buddys ***
Saturday April 22nd – Madison @ The Frequency***
Sun. April 23 – St. Louis, Mo at Fubar ***
Wed, April 26—Fresno, CA at Fulton 55
Thurs, April 27—San Jose, CA at The Ritz
Fri, April 28—San Francisco, CA at Slim’s
Sat, April 29—Sacramento, CA at Harlow’s
Sun, April 30—Salem, OR at Shotski’s
Tues, May 2—Bend, OR at Volcanic Theater Pub
Wed, May 3—Portland, OR at Dante’s
Thurs, May 4—Seattle, WA at El Corazon
Fri, May 5—private event***
Tues, May 9—Boise, ID at Neurolux
Wed, May 10—Salt Lake City, UT at Urban Lounge 
Thurs, May 11—Colorado Springs, CO at Black Sheep
Fri, May 12—Fort Collins, CO at Hodis Half Note
Sat, May 13—Denver, CO at Marquis Theatre
Sun, May 14—Shawnee Mission, KS at Aftershock
Wed, May 17—Austin, TX at Barracuda
Thurs, May 18—Dallas, TX at Gas Monkey Bar and Grill
Fri, May 19—San Antonio, TX at Paper Tiger
Sat, May 20—Houston, TX at White Oak Music Hall
Sunday, May 21—New Orleans, LA at Southport Music Hall
Tues, May 23—Atlanta, GA at Masquerade-Hell Stage
Wed, May 24—Nashville, TN at Exit In
Fri, May 26—Charlotte, NC at Neighborhood Theatre
Sat, May 27—Chapel Hill, NC at Local 506
Sun, May 28—Richmond, VA at The Camel
Tues, May 30—Pittsburgh, PA at Hard Rock Café
Wed, May 31—Baltimore, MD at Baltimore Sound Stage
Thur, June 1—Philadelphia, PA at Kung Fu Neck Tie
Fri, June 2—New York, NY at Gramercy Theatre
Sat, June 3—Asbury Park, NJ at Wonder Bar
Sun, June 4—Reading, PA at Reverb
Mon, June 5—Pittsburgh, PA at Hard Rock Café
Tues, June 6—Canton, OH at Buzzbin Art and Music Shop
Wed, June 7—Cleveland, OH at Phantasy Night Club
Thurs, June 8 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Café
Fri, June 9—Mishawaka, IN at Smith’s Downtown
Sat, June 10—Springfield, MO at Outland Ballroom

(Tour dates with Okilly Dokilly unless noted *** )

 

 

Advertisements

1 Comment »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s